Daily Poker News

The Final Twenty-Four Poker Players at the 2010 PokerStars EPT Grand Final

The 2010 PokerStars EPT Grand Final played down to twenty-four players in Monte Carlo on April 28th, 2010 and the final table is now within striking distance.

As poker players like 2003 WSOP (World Series of Poker) Main Event champion Chris Moneymaker, 2008 Irish Poker Open winner Neil Channing, football player turned poker player Teddy Sheringham and 2006 EPT (European Poker Tour) London champion Vicky Coren all bust out of the event, several poker players solidified their chances to take home the EPT Grand Final championship.

The overall chip lead belongs to American online poker phenom Kevin "1$ickDisea$E" Eyster, whose largest live score to date was a 2nd place finish in a $1,000 Six-Max event at the 2010 PokerStars Caribbean Adventure (PCA) in January 2010 for $65,000. Eyster has slightly more than 2.7 million in total chips and 2009 PokerStars Italian Poker Tour Venice champion Matt Perrins sits behind him.

The British poker pro will take a total of 2.5 million chips into the battle on April 29th, 2010 for one of the eight slots on the final table. A host of other players are still in contention for the title. WPT (World Poker Tour) and WSOP bracelet winner retains a chance at the championship and to become a Triple Crown winner, joining Gavin Griffin and Roland de Wolfe as the only poker players to hold EPT, WPT and WSOP titles.

Swedish poker pro Ramzi Jelassi, who has a string of deep finishes on the EPT without a major win, is also still in contention, as well as Finnish high-stakes online poker pro Sami "LarzLuzak" Kelopuro and WSOP and EPT final table member Andrew Chen.

Organizers plan to play down to the final eight players on Thursday. 1st place pays 1,700,000 euros. The EPT Grand Final continues through April 30th, 2010.


05/04/2010, Tuesday