Daily Poker News

The Fourth Season of the Poker After Dark in NBC

On July 13th, 2008, the Poker After Dark will resume on Monday, July 14th, 2008 for its 4th season. The show will showcase high-stake cash games instead of deep-stacked 6 handed freezeouts. The new gaming format should feature mouth watering pots, with $200 /$400 blinds and a minimum buy-in cost of $100,000 and a maximum of $250,000.

Some of the players that will participate on the event are Tom Dwan, 11 time WSOP bracelet winner Phil Hellmuth, Mike Baxter, 5 time WSOP bracelet winner Allen Cunningham, Cirque du Soleil CEO Guy Laliberte and David Peat. Dwan and Hellmuth recently met at the National Heads-Up Poker Championship back on February 2008. As is usual on Poker After Dark, the hole cards of the players will be revealed to the viewing audience, even if they are only pre-flop. Leann Tweeden will make her debut as the host for the program.

After airing on July 14th, 2008 at 2:05 a.m., the show will continue to air for 5 consecutive nights at the same time. The director's cut for the show will air on July 19th, 2008 at 1:00 a.m. that will show Tweeden interviewing the players and other important highlights of the show. The second part of the show will air on October 13th, 2008 with Patrik Antonius, Dee Tiller, Howard Lederer, Doyle Brunson, Gabe Kaplan and others as participants.


07/20/2008, Sunday