Daily Poker News

The Initial Top 20 Poker Players for the Tournament of Champions

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) will host its 4th Tournament of Champions (TOC) on July 4th, 2010 since the beginning of the poker boom following Chris Moneymaker's win at the 2003 WSOP Main Event.

But astonishingly, if voting for which poker players the public wants to participate in this year's event ended today, Moneymaker will still not have participated in one of these exclusive events.

The Tennessee accountant shows a list of poker players who are not included in the top twenty of Harrah's public poll to seat twenty of the twenty-seven in the 2010 Tournament of Champions.

Five slots are reserved for the last three TOC winners (Mike Sexton, Mike Matusow and Annie Duke) and reigning World Series of Poker and World Series of Poker Europe Champions Joseph Cada and Barry Shulman, while two slots are being held for sponsor exemptions, which are expected to be utilized as poker qualifiers for the public.

There are still two months for poker enthusiasts to vote in up to twenty players who they would like to see play in the ESPN event. The top nine finishers in the twenty-seven player field will divide the $1 million prize pool, with the champion receiving $500,000. Only living bracelet holders are eligible to be considered in the event. Voting concludes on June 15th, 2010.

There have already been more than 250,000 votes cast in the polling, according to the World Series of Poker. The current top twenty, in alphabetical orders, according to the press release of Harrah's on April 22nd, 2010: Doyle Brunson, Johnny Chan, T.J. Cloutier, Allen Cunningham, Antonio Esfandiari, Sam Farha, Chris Ferguson, Barry Greenstein, Joe Hachem, Jennifer Harman, Dan Harrington, Phil Hellmuth, Phil Ivey, John Juanda, Howard Lederer, Daniel Negreanu, Scotty Nguyen, Greg Raymer, Huck Seed and Erik Seidel.

With still two months of public voting to go, it is still possible for the top twenty players list to change. There are still some poker pros who have not gathered enough support that might surprise some poker enthusiasts.


05/06/2010, Thursday