Daily Poker News

The PokerStars European Poker Tour Awards

The race for the PokerStars.com EPT (European Poker Tour) Awards appears to be well underway with only three poker events left to go in Season Six. The races for the European Poker Tour Player of the Year award is currently a three-way tie with Martin Kabrhel, Maxim Lykov and Kevin MacPhee all all sitting on one hundred sixty points.

MacPhee's triumph in Berlin, a 2nd place finish in a side poker event and three main events cash-ins have pushed him to the top of the Player of the Year standings while Lykov joins him on the top sport with wins in EPT Kyiv and a $1,000 side poker event at the PokerStars Caribbean Adventure. Aside from that, Czech poker star Martin Kabrhel has earned his points by winning three side poker events, including the European Poker Tour Deauville High Roller event.

But any poker player currently in the top twenty-one, including Team PokerStars Pros Peter Eastgate, Luca Pagano and William Thorson, could win the Player of the Year title if they win one of the last remaining EPT main events. So far, there is only one clear in the EPT awards. Team PokerStars Pro William Thorson will take home the Best Omaha Player award after winnig two out of the eleven Omaha events in the Season 6 schedule. The tightest player race may be one for the EPT Mixed Games Player.

At present, seven poker players are all tied on fifty points, including Team PokerStars Pros Katja Thater, Benjamin Kang and Joe Hachem. The winner will be determined next month at the final Mixed Games side event during EPT San Remo.

Czech Republic is still leading the race for the Best European Poker Tour Country because of side event king Martin Kabrhek, Jiri Kulhanek, who won the PokerStars Caribbean Adventure (PCA) $1,000 PLO Six-Max event and EPT Prague champion Jan Skampa. But both Israel and Portugal are still close behind.

The title of Best Online Qualifier is also a close race with 68 year-old Pierre Neuville from Belgium, a former director of Hasbro Games, behind EPT Barcelona champion Carter Phillips. At least two EPT awards are still up for grabs.

Shortlists for the European Poker Tour Achievement of the Year Award and the European Poker Tour's People's Choice Award will be announced at the end of EPT San Remo on April 21st, 2010 when online voting starts. The EPT Awards will be presented on the final night of the EPT Grand Final in Monte Carlo on April 30th, 2010.


04/12/2010, Monday